Refund of flight ticket costs

Ticket refund

Introduction

The aviation industry has indeed been beset with crises in the recent past. The 9/11 terror attacks in 2001, the 2008-2009 global economic crisis, and the volcanic ash cloud from the Eyjafjallajökull volcano in Iceland in 2010 immediately spring to mind here. However, none of these previous upheavals affected the aviation industry to an extent comparable with the current corona pandemic. Combined with the Fit for 55 package adopted on 14.07.2021 by the European Commission as part of the European Green Deal, which proposes to reduce greenhouse gas emissions by at least 55% by 2030 compared to 1990 levels, this crisis presents aviation with unprecedented challenges. The beginning of 2020 saw air carriers compelled to cease flight operations, sometimes completely until further notice, with the consequence that millions of passengers contacted airlines looking to get their tickets reimbursed. The simultaneous dwindling demand for bookings tore a huge hole in the budgets of numerous airlines, so drastic that they only survived thanks to state assistance.[1] The question about how airline companies and airports can achieve the European Green Deal targets despite the falling turnover and threats to their very existence, is one that currently remains unanswered. Eurocontrol is predicting that it will be 2024 before the 2019 level of traffic is again achieved:

Source: https://www.eurocontrol.int      updated: 06.01.2021

 

Ticket refunds as a problematic legal area caused by the pandemic

From a legal perspective, the pandemic clearly shows that the European legislator had not envisaged any kind of global pandemic when it drafted the Flight Compensation Regulation (EC No 261/2004) of 17 February 2005.

A lack of available personnel resources meant it became impossible to reimburse tickets within 7 days, as required under Art. 8(1)(a) Flight Compensation Regulation (EC No 261/2004). The fact that every failure to meet this time limit is also punishable with a fine pursuant to Section 58(1) no. 13 German Aviation Act (LuftVG) in conjunction with Section 108(2) no. 2 German Air Traffic Approval Order (LuftVZO), Sections 30(1), 130(1) German Administrative Offences Act (OWiG) in conjunction with Section 9(1) no. 1 OWiG, appears extremely unfortunate given the context.

Who all has to pay?

Then there is the problem that rescinding the contract of carriage, including the reversal of payments, is anything but clearly regulated, and furthermore, the existing regulations are inadequate given the complexity of the contractual relations. The passenger is generally free to choose whether to base his or her reimbursement claim on the contractual claim to a refund due to the cancellation, or he or she can rely on the Flight Compensation Regulation. In the first case the correct defendant is the contracting partner, while the operating carrier will be the addressee of the claim in the latter instance. A well-advised passenger will pursue both avenues out-of-court. The contracting partner is generally the ticket-issuing company. This can be a consolidator or an airline. If the flight is operated by several different carriers because it comprises multiple connecting flights, the case law of the CJEU holds that each of the connecting flight operating carriers are liable for the total ticket price (Judgement of 11.7.2019 – C-502/18. CS and Others v Ceské aerolinie). However, in practice the contracting carrier often collects the ticket price for its flight segment only if the passenger actually takes the flight. Therefore, in the event of a cancellation, it can happen that a flight segment operating carrier never actually receives the ticket price, but has to reimburse the entire cost of the ticket, regardless.  In the absence of any shared reservation software, it is frequently impossible for the obligor to identify if another obligor has already paid in response to a passenger’s claim, so there is a risk that payments may be made multiple times, and that any rights of redress of operating carriers among one another go unfulfilled.

Who is the claimant?

Another still unresolved problematic legal area comes with the absence of rules defining the locus standi for claiming a refund, so it is uncertain who really is the reimbursement claimant pursuant to Art. 8(1)(a) first indent Regulation (EC) No 261/2004. When it comes to compensation, this is undeniably the actual air passenger. In the case of ticket refunds, whether the claim rests with the individual passenger, the person who made the booking, or with the person paying is a matter of debate. The Regulation merely sets out the individual passenger’s specific option to claim either reimbursement of the ticket price or a re-routing arrangement. So, it is frequently unclear who the airlines are supposed to reimburse.

Considering the aforementioned 7-day time limit, it is generally in the airline’s interest to make the payment to the ticket booker since their contact details and payment method will already be known to it, so allowing the cancellation and repayment to be performed quickly and easily (see for example, Local Court of Wedding, Judgment of 17.08.2021 – 14 C 601/20; Local Court of Wedding, Judgment of 19.10.2021 – 14 C 652/20). The contract of carriage will generally set out this mode of repayment. Looking at Art. 15(1) Regulation (EC) No 261/2004, some of the case law maintains that such a provision is unenforceable because the passenger is personally entitled to the payment claim. This issue becomes even more complex when the ticket was booked by a travel agent, the airline refunds the ticket price to the agent, but, contrary to Art. 6.3 of the IATA Resolution 896, the agent fails to forward the payment to the passenger, or does so outside of the 7-day time limit.

Conclusions

The CJEU has yet to issue a decision on locus standi, and one is urgently needed. Nor are there any current indications of a forthcoming reform of the Flight Compensation Regulation. The decision of the Berlin Regional Court (Judgment of 29.11.2019 – 101 O 93/19) can provide assistance here. In those proceedings, the Regional Court had to make a ruling on our client airline’s contractual clause, according to which “Reimbursements shall be made either via the original payment medium or another payment medium, but also to the ticket booker if the original payment medium is no longer available.” The Berlin Regional Court ruled that this clause was effective, and that the sole purpose of the provision was “to give the Respondent certainty that it is making repayments to the right person.”

 

 

 

[1] Re. associated competition issues, see the Judgement of the General Court of 14.07.2021, Case T-677/20.

All posts

Cancellation

Postponement of the departure time as a cancellation? ECJ judgment of 21.12.2021 – C-395/20 (Corendon Airlines) Article 2(l)...

Cancellation

Bringing forward the departure time as a cancellation?  ECJ judgment of 21.12.2021 – C-263/20 (Airhelp)   Guiding principle...

Newsletter anmelden

Erhalten Sie den Newsletter zum Thema Flug- und Transportrecht

DSGVO

Vielen Dank, wir senden Ihnen eine E-Mail mit einem Bestätigungslink.

Newsletter anmelden

Erhalten Sie den Newsletter zum Thema Medizin- und Arztrecht

DSGVO

Vielen Dank, wir senden Ihnen eine E-Mail mit einem Bestätigungslink.

Subscribe to newsletter

Receive the newsletter on aviation and transport law

GDPR

Thank you, we will send you an email with a confirmation link.

Subscribe to newsletter

Receive the newsletter medical and medical law

GDPR

Thank you, we will send you an email with a confirmation link.

Erstattung von Flugscheinkosten

Ticketrückerstattungen

Die Luftfahrtindustrie war schon in der jüngeren Vergangenheit von Krisen heimgesucht worden. Zu denken ist an den Terroranschlag vom 11. September 2001, die weltweite Wirtschaftskrise 2008/2009 oder an die Vulkanaschewolken des Vulkans Eyjafjallajökull im Jahre 2010. Keine jener vorangegangen Krisen dürfte allerdings in ihren Auswirkungen auf die Luftfahrtindustrie mit der aktuellen Corona Pandemie vergleichbar sein. Gepaart mit dem am 14.07.2021 postulierten European Green Deal der Europäischen Kommission Fit for 55, wonach die Treibhausgasemissionen bis 2030 um mindestens 55% im Vergleich zu 1990 gesenkt werden sollen, stellt diese Krise die Luftfahrt vor nie da gewesene Herausforderungen. So sahen sich Luftfahrtunternehmen seit Beginn des Jahres 2020 gezwungen ihre Flugoperationen bis auf weiteres teilweise vollständig einzustellen mit der Folge, dass die Fluggäste sich millionenfach an die Fluggesellschaften wendeten, und um Erstattung der Flugtickets baten. Die zugleich schwindende Buchungsnachfrage riss ein riesiges Loch in die Budgethaushalte zahlreicher Airlines, deren Überleben nur durch staatliche Beihilfen gesichert werden konnte.[1] Die Frage, wie Fluggesellschaften und Flughäfen trotz Umsatzeinbußen und Existenzbedrohungen die Ziele des Europäischen Green Deals erreichen sollen, ist derzeit noch unbeantwortet. Nach Vorhersagen von Eurocontrol wird voraussichtlich erst im Jahre 2024 das Niveau des Verkehrsaufkommens aus 2019 wieder erreichen:

Quelle: https://www.eurocontrol.int            Stand: 06.01.2021

Ticketrückerstattungen als juristischer Problemkreis der Pandemie

Aus juristischer Sicht hat die Pandemie deutlich gezeigt, dass der europäische Gesetzgeber bei Schaffung der Fluggastrechteverordnung VO (EG) 261/2004 vom 17. Februar 2005 keine weltweite Pandemie vor Augen hatte.

Eine Rückerstattung der Flugscheinkosten binnen 7 Tagen, wie es die Fluggastrechtverordnung in Art. 8 Abs. 1 lit. a VO (EG) 261/2004 vorsieht, war aufgrund nicht mehr vorhandener personeller Ressourcen nicht möglich. Dass die Nichteinhaltung dieser Frist zugleich gemäß § 58 Abs. 1 Nr. 13 LuftVG i.V.m. § 108 Abs. 2 Nr. 2 LuftVZO, §§ 30 Abs. 1, 130 Abs. 1 OWiG i.V.m. § 9 Abs. 1 Nr. 1 OWiG in jedem Einzelfall bußgeldbewährt ist, erscheint in diesem Zusammenhang äußerst unglücklich.

Wer ist alles Schuldner?

Hinzu kommt, dass die Rückabwicklung des Beförderungsvertrages, d.h. der Rückfluss der Zahlungsströme keineswegs eindeutig geregelt ist und die vorhandenen Regeln mit Blick auf die Komplexität der Vertragsverhältnisse zu kurz greifen. Dem Fluggast steht es grundsätzlich frei, ob er seinen Rückerstattungsanspruch auf seinen vertraglichen Rückforderungsanspruch aufgrund der erfolgten Annullierung stützt oder auf die Fluggastrechteverordnung. In erstem Fall ist der Vertragspartner passiv legitimiert, in letzterem Fall ist das ausführende Luftfahrtunternehmen zu adressieren. Ein gut beratender Fluggast wird außergerichtlich beide Wege gehen. Der Vertragsparner ist regelmäßig das ticketausstellende Unternehmen. Dies kann ein Konsolidator oder eine Airline sein. Wurde der Flug durch mehrere verschiedene Luftfahrtunternehmen ausgeführt, weil dieser aus mehreren Teilstrecken bestand, so haftet nach der Rechtsprechung des EuGH zusätzlich jedes teilausführende Luftfahrtunternehmen auf den gesamten Flugpreis (Urteil vom 11.7.2019 – C-502/18. CS u.a. v. Ceské aerolinie). In der Praxis vereinnahmt allerdings das vertragliche Luftfahrtunternehmen den Flugpreis für seinen Flugabschnitt oftmals nur, wenn der Fluggast den Flug auch antritt. So kann es im Falle einer Annullierung vorkommen, dass das ausführende Luftfahrtunternehmen eines Teilabschnittes den Flugpreis gar nicht erhält, jedoch die gesamten Flugscheinkosten erstatten muss.  Mangels gemeinsam genutzter Buchungssoftware ist für die Schuldner oftmals auch nicht erkennbar, ob ein anderer Schuldner bereits auf die Forderung des Fluggastes gezahlt hat, sodass die Gefahr von Mehrfachzahlungen besteht und etwaige Regressansprüche der ausführenden Luftfahrtunternehmen im Innenverhältnis leerlaufen.

Wer ist Anspruchsinhaber?

Ein juristisch weiterhin ungeklärtes Problemfeld begründet die nicht geregelte Aktivlegitimation für den Rückzahlungsanspruch, wer der eigentliche Anspruchsinhaber der Erstattungsforderung nach Art. 8, Abs. 1 lit. a erster Spiegelstrich VO (EG) 261/2004 ist. Im Falle von Ausgleichsleistungen ist dies unumstritten der Fluggast selbst. Bei Ticketrückerstattungen wird diskutiert, ob der Anspruch dem einzelnen Fluggast, dem Buchenden oder dem Zahlenden zusteht. Lediglich das individuelle Wahlrecht des einzelnen Passagiers auf Erstattung des Flugpreises oder auf eine anderweitige Beförderung, ist in der Verordnung geregelt. Oftmals ist damit unklar, an wen Fluggesellschaften die Erstattung zu leisten haben.

Mit Blick auf die erwähnte 7-Tages-Frist entspricht es in der Regel dem Interesse der Fluggesellschaft, die Zahlung an den Buchenden vorzunehmen, da dessen Kontakt- und Zahlungsmittel aufgrund des Buchungsvorganges bereits bekannt ist und so eine einfache und schnelle Rückabwicklung erfolgen kann (so z.B. AG Wedding Urteil v. 17.08.2021 – 14 C 601/20; AG Wedding Urteil v. 19.10.2021 – 14 C 652/20). Jene Rückzahlungsmodalität wird meist bereits im Beförderungsvertrag geregelt. In der Rechtsprechung wird teilweise mit Blick auf Art. 15 Abs. 1 VO (EG) 261/2004 die Auffassung vertreten, dass eine solche Regelung unwirksam sei, weil die Forderung dem Fluggast persönlich zustehe. An Komplexität gewinnt dieser Problemkreis, wenn der „Buchende“ ein Reisevermittler war und die Fluggesellschaft die Ticketrückerstattung an den Reisevermittler vornahm, dieser jedoch die Zahlung entgegen Art. 6.3 der IATA Resolution 896 an den Fluggast gar nicht oder außerhalb der 7-Tages-Frist weiterleitete.

Schlussfolgerungen

Eine dringend notwendige EuGH-Entscheidung zur Frage der Aktivlegitimation fehlt bisher. Auch eine Reform der Fluggastrechteverordnung im Bereich der Ticketrückerstattungen zeichnet sich derzeit nicht ab. Eine Hilfestellung kann die Entscheidung des LG Berlin (Urteil v. 29.11.2019 – 101 O 93/19) geben. In dem zugrundeliegenden Verfahren hatte das Landgericht über die Klausel einer durch uns vertretenen Fluggesellschaft zu entscheiden, nach der sinngemäß ‚Erstattungen entweder auf das ursprüngliche Zahlungsmedium oder auf ein anderes Zahlungsmedium, jedoch ebenfalls an den Buchenden erfolgen, wenn das ursprüngliche Zahlungsmedium nicht mehr zur Verfügung steht.‘ Das LG Berlin urteilte, dass diese Klausel wirksam sei und die Regelung tatsächlich nur darauf abziele, „die Beklagte dahingehend abzusichern, an die richtige Person Rückzahlungen zu leisten.“

[1] Zu den damit einhergehenden Wettbewerbsfragen, siehe z.B. Urteil des EuG v. 14.07.2021, Rs. T-677/20.

Annulierung

Verschiebung der Abflugzeit als Annullierung? EuGH Urteil vom 21.12.2021 – C-395/20 (Corendon Airlines) Art. 2 Buchst. l und Art. 5 Abs. 1...

Annullierung

Vorverlegung der Abflugzeit als Annullierung? EuGH Urteil vom 21.12.2021 – C-263/20 (Airhelp)   Leitsatz Art. 2 Buchst. l und Art. 5...

Newsletter anmelden

Erhalten Sie den Newsletter zum Thema Flug- und Transportrecht

DSGVO

Vielen Dank, wir senden Ihnen eine E-Mail mit einem Bestätigungslink.

Newsletter anmelden

Erhalten Sie den Newsletter zum Thema Medizin- und Arztrecht

DSGVO

Vielen Dank, wir senden Ihnen eine E-Mail mit einem Bestätigungslink.

Subscribe to newsletter

Receive the newsletter on aviation and transport law

GDPR

Thank you, we will send you an email with a confirmation link.

Subscribe to newsletter

Receive the newsletter medical and medical law

GDPR

Thank you, we will send you an email with a confirmation link.